Venom Day 2017

I have attended Venom Day for the last two years (albeit never without a hangover) and this year was no exception.

But what is Venom Day?

Well, Venom Day is an internationally renowned conference normally held mid November, which boasts a collection of lectures focusing on venom. Although this is most popular among herpetologists, it’s not technically a herpetological conference.

This year we had conferences ranging from poison-arrow frogs, to venomous mammals and the folk-law surrounding them; we even had a guest speaker from the Netherlands! We also had a total of 147 guests this year- an almost sold-out lecture theatre!

The best part of this year? I got to help organise it.

The Debate

We also offer a debate on the Friday evening (the night before the conference) the title of which changes every year.

This year we had this house believes that photography disturbance has a negative impact on herps’, which I had the experience of debating for.

The debate offers a chance for a meal and drink as well as a relaxed and friendly environment for a debate. This is aimed at professionals, as well as students just learning to present and provides a unique opportunity to present to peers outside of university.

Unfortunately this year the projector didn’t work, so there were no slides to accompany the debate, instead it was spoken with no visual aids which made it more difficult, but also provided a somewhat welcomed challenge for our speakers.

Normally the debate is quick-run, with three people on each side, 20 slides per-person and 20 seconds for each slide.

The Speakers

venom day 1

The Chinese Meal

We also offer a meal out after the conference, which again offers a relaxed environment where you can network and make new friends. This is traditionally a boozy event, with people ending up clubbing afterwards.

Being the anti-social herper that I am, I left halfway through in order to go to bed- but I heard it was a successful evening.

What makes us great?

Not only is this a unique conference within the U.K., but it’s pretty damn cheap. There’s not a whole lot of conferences where you can get a day of intellectually stimulating lectures, a free lunch, and an alcoholic (or non) drinks reception at the end- which also provides an invaluable opportunity to network with big herp-names such as Wolfgang WüsterMark O’Shea and Tell Hicks.

We also have stalls during the debate where you can sell (with permission) any merchandise relating to herping or venom. If you’re not fussy what you buy, we also have a raffle where 100% of the profits are donated to charity. The prizes are normally donated by stalls present. This year we managed to raise £607 for the Global Snakebite Initiative!

Final Thoughts

Venom Day is an amazing and unique conference- one that’s well worth the money (even if you’re not buying tickets at a discounted rates).

It’s an opportunity to network, make friends, buy some cool stuff and contribute to amazing charities.

I would highly recommend it- and that’s not just because it took months to organise!

Final Thoughts

Venom Day is definitely a valuable conference to attend and I’m really glad I managed to be a part of it this year. In taking part not only did I manage to gain valuable contacts and experience in organising an internationally renowned conference, but it’s something amazing to put on an academic C.V.

In terms of the debate, although it was the most nerve-wracking activity I’ve ever partaken in (and I’ve gone sky-diving before), I’m really glad I did it.

I’ve learnt that in throwing myself in at the deep-end the everyday activities that normally give me anxiety are somehow less frightening. Yes, I’m still terrified to do presentations in front my peers, but if I can stand in front of a crowd of world-renowned academics and try and persuade them on a point-of-view that I don’t truly believe in… then I can do anything!

In short; do the things you’re afraid of. Talk to academics because they may be a useful contact in the future and volunteer for the things you love to do, because not only are they great to put on your C.V., but you’ll also end up doing something you’re really proud of.

venmo day photo.jpg
The Venom Day 2016 group photo- shows what a great turn-out we have!

Leave a comment